This page is written by Rewardfinity
We make Rewardfinity, so read this as our case for it. We rank only ourselves; the other eleven apps are grouped by what their own pages say they are for.
Every statement about another app comes from its own website, help centre, documentation or app-store listing, read on 22 October 2026 and checked again on 26 October. BonusQR’s come from our comparison page, read on 14 October, and loop.fans’s from its pages saved on 19 October. “We did not find” means on the pages we read, not “they do not offer it”. Everything about Rewardfinity was checked against our source code. We print no prices, theirs or ours; our pricing page shows the price set for your country.
Twelve loyalty apps for small business, side by side
Rewardfinity first, then the others in the order of the sections below. The last column is our argument; each cell is explained, with its source, further down.
| App | Best for | How you start | Where Rewardfinity is stronger |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rewardfinity | Small shops that sell at a counter, with or without a till | 60-day web trial, no card, no automatic charge | Our first pick |
| Square Loyalty | Square sellers who want loyalty in the Square Dashboard | 30-day free trial, for Square sellers | Eight card types against one loyalty program per seller; customer referral rewards; 36 countries against 8 |
| Loopy Loyalty | Stamp cards in the customer’s phone wallet | 15-day trial; a credit card is needed to go live | Points, tiers and referrals beside stamps; native Square; 60 days against 15 |
| Stamp Me | Tap-to-stamp counter devices | 30-day trial from the first published card, no card | Points and tiers; earning from a Square till; self-serve member import |
| Loyalzoo | Loyalty with memberships and card payments | 7-day free trial | 60 days against 7; tiers on the entry web plan; referral rewards |
| Kangaroo Rewards | A done-for-you suite with texting | Pricing page leads to a demo booking form | A published 60-day trial; Kangaroo’s pricing page sends plans to a demo form |
| SumUp Connect | A done-for-you suite with texting, on SumUp’s POS | Sales form; no trial described | Self-serve trial; stamp cards; tiers that change the earn rate |
| TapMango | A done-for-you suite with texting, on its own tablet | Demo request or quote form | Start today; a published monthly price; the whole counter on a phone you own |
| loop.fans | Neighbourhood networks and customer tasks | Free plan, no card required | Native Square and a documented REST API; loop.fans’s documentation names neither, though its blog describes both |
| BonusQR | QR stamp cards with no POS | Free plan its pricing page labels “forever” | CSV member import with a preview |
| LoyaltyLion | Shopify-first stores | Free plan on Shopify; 14-day trial of paid features | Runs at a counter with no online store account; native Square; tiers on every web plan |
| Smile.io | Shopify-first stores | Free plan that does not expire under its order limit | Runs without a Shopify or BigCommerce account; Square and other tills; stamp cards |
Why merchants choose Rewardfinity
1. Stamps, points, tiers and referrals in one product
Rewardfinity has eight card types: stamp card, points, membership, member discount, store credit, coupon, gift card and prepaid pack. A stamp card runs to 100 stamps with milestone rewards, and extra stamps carry over. Points can carry VIP tiers that multiply earning 1x to 10x. Referrals reward both people when the friend joins, makes a first eligible purchase or reaches a set number of visits. For paid card types you take payment in your own register: Rewardfinity records the balance and every use; it never holds the money. The digital stamp cards page shows how the cards work.
2. Start yourself today, for 60 days, with no card
A 60-day trial starts when the workspace is created, with no card and no automatic charge. Reminders go out 7 days and 1 day before the end; if you do not choose a plan, new earning, spins and redemptions pause and your records stay. On their pricing pages, Kangaroo Rewards sends every plan to a demo booking form, SumUp Connect to a sales form and TapMango to a quote form.
3. Keep your till, and use the phone you own
Rewardfinity connects to Square natively: a payment carrying the customer’s email, or a Square customer record with one, earns for that member, and a new email is enrolled. A payment with no email is not matched, so staff scan the member’s QR code instead. Other tills, such as Clover, Lightspeed and Toast, can post purchases to a signed inbound webhook from your own server, or from Zapier or Make with a signing step, for customers who are already members. With no till at all, staff scan the member’s QR code in a browser on a phone or tablet the shop already owns. No NFC reader purchase is required for the QR-first counter workflow. See the integrations page and in-store loyalty.
4. The price set for your country, in 36 countries
Web plans are sold in 36 countries, each at a price set for that country in its own currency; the pricing page shows yours.
5. Move your members across yourself
The dashboard imports a member list from a CSV file and shows a preview before anything is written. The switching section lists exactly what it takes.
The other eleven, grouped by what each is built for
Each entry gives what the app says it is for, where we think Rewardfinity does that job better, and who it may suit instead.
Square Loyalty: best for Square sellers who want loyalty in the Square Dashboard
Square Loyalty is Square’s own loyalty add-on, for sellers on Square Point of Sale or Square Online. Customers earn by visits, spend or items, and Square’s help centre calls a visit program a “virtual punch card”. Its developer docs list eight countries: Australia, Canada, France, Ireland, Japan, Spain, the United Kingdom and the United States.
Where Rewardfinity is stronger. Eight card types, where Square’s developer docs allow one loyalty program per seller. Customer referral rewards, which Square’s loyalty help articles do not describe. And 36 countries: seven of Square Loyalty’s eight, all but Ireland, are among ours, so 36 − 7 = 29 of ours are not on its list.
May suit you if every sale already runs through Square. Rewardfinity and Square Loyalty compared.
Loopy Loyalty: best for stamp cards in the customer’s wallet
Loopy Loyalty sells digital stamp cards delivered as Apple Wallet and Google Wallet passes. Its help centre recommends its sister platform, PassKit, for points-based programs, and says a card holds up to 30 stamps, a count that cannot change once the card is activated.
Where Rewardfinity is stronger. Points, tiers and two-sided referrals beside a stamp card of up to 100 stamps. Native Square, where Loopy’s help centre documents Square only through two Zapier automations on a paid Zapier plan. And 60 trial days against 15.
May suit you if a stamp card in the customer’s wallet is all you need. Rewardfinity and Loopy Loyalty compared.
Stamp Me: best for tap-to-stamp counter devices
Stamp Me is a digital stamp-card platform: customers tap a StampPod counter device or a Stamp Tag, or use single-use codes. Its help centre says “Stamp Me does not integrate with point of sale systems (POS)”, which its homepage presents as a benefit.
Where Rewardfinity is stronger. Stamp Me’s help centre says it offers neither a points-based nor a tiered program; Rewardfinity runs both beside stamp cards and earns from a Square till. You also import members yourself with a preview, where Stamp Me’s bulk upload is a request to its team.
May suit you if customers tapping a device at the counter is the experience you want. Rewardfinity and Stamp Me compared.
Loyalzoo: best for loyalty with memberships and card payments
Loyalzoo positions itself as “Customer loyalty, marketing and subscriptions” for independent businesses, with till integrations including Square, Clover and Epos Now, memberships with recurring payments, and its own card terminal, Loyalzoo Payments, which awards points when customers pay.
Where Rewardfinity is stronger. 60 trial days against Loyalzoo’s 7: 60 ÷ 7 ≈ 8.6 weeks of trading to judge a program, against 1. Tiers on our entry web plan, where Loyalzoo lists multiple tiers from its Smart plan. And referral rewards, which we did not find on Loyalzoo’s site, help centre or Shopify listing when we checked on 22 October 2026.
May suit you if you want loyalty, paid memberships and card payments from one provider.
Kangaroo Rewards: best for a done-for-you suite with texting
Kangaroo Rewards calls itself “the all-in-one customer loyalty and engagement platform”, with native email and SMS. Every “Get Started” on its pricing page leads to a booking form for a specialist walkthrough, and for switchers it says “We move your members, point balances, tiers and rewards”.
Where Rewardfinity is stronger. A published 60-day trial with no card, which you start yourself from our website. Kangaroo’s pricing page sends every plan to a demo booking form, and the pages we read publish no trial length. To be fair to it: its homepage says “Fully functional loyalty program in as little as 60 minutes”, its tablet product invites a business to “Download, register, launch”, and its switching page offers “6 months free”, with terms applying.
May suit you if you want a specialist to set the program up and move your members for you.
SumUp Connect (formerly Fivestars): best for a done-for-you suite on SumUp’s POS
SumUp describes Connect as “an always-on marketing and customer loyalty tool”, and its launch press release says it “works best natively within SumUp’s Point of Sale system”. Customers join with a phone number at checkout, and AutoPilot campaigns reach them by SMS, push and email.
Where Rewardfinity is stronger. A self-serve trial, where every “Get SumUp Connect” button leads to a sales form. Stamp cards, which SumUp Connect’s pages do not describe. And VIP tiers that multiply earning 1x to 10x, where Connect’s VIP is a member group identified by lifetime points.
May suit you if you take payments on SumUp’s POS and want texting campaigns that run on their own.
TapMango: best for a done-for-you suite on its own counter tablet
TapMango is an all-in-one loyalty and customer-engagement platform that runs on its own 8-inch counter tablet and stand and integrates with platforms including Square, Clover, Toast, Lightspeed and Shopify. Every call to action on its site is a demo request or a quote form.
Where Rewardfinity is stronger. You start today on your own, the monthly price for your country is on our pricing page rather than quoted on a call, and the counter runs in a browser on a phone you own. TapMango’s browser Virtual Tablet, its help centre says, “is not a complete replacement for TapMango’s devices”.
May suit you if you want a dedicated tablet, texting and online ordering set up for you.
loop.fans: best for neighbourhood networks and customer tasks
loop.fans rewards customers for visits, reviews, referrals and content, and connects businesses into a shared network where customers earn in one place and redeem in another. Its home page says no POS integration is needed; receipt scanning captures spend.
Where Rewardfinity is stronger. For one shop’s counter: a native Square connection and a REST API with signed webhooks, documented on our integrations and developer pages. loop.fans’s product documentation names no till connection and its product pages describe no API or webhooks, though several of its blog articles describe an API and name tills it works with, including Square, so ask them what exists.
May suit you if you run a district, region or hospitality group and want one pass across many businesses. Rewardfinity and loop.fans compared.
BonusQR: best for QR stamp cards with no POS
BonusQR’s headline says “No POS Needed”: a customer scans a QR code, creates an account in one click and gets a personal QR code. Rewards run from stamp cards and points to cashback, coupons, referrals and rewards for Google Maps reviews.
Where Rewardfinity is stronger. A CSV member import with column mapping and a preview. BonusQR’s blog says a customer list can be imported, but no product page, feature page or API endpoint we read describes one.
May suit you if you want a plan labelled free with no end: its pricing page labels the Free plan “forever”. Rewardfinity and BonusQR compared.
LoyaltyLion: best for Shopify-first stores
LoyaltyLion’s FAQ says it is “built specifically for Shopify and Shopify Plus”, and in store it works through Shopify POS or a POS integration. Its help centre also covers a Magento 2 extension and a headless API. Its free plan runs on Shopify, and its 14-day trial falls back to that free plan.
Where Rewardfinity is stronger. It runs as a counter program with no online store account, where LoyaltyLion runs on your ecommerce store’s customer accounts. It connects natively to Square, which we did not find in LoyaltyLion’s integrations directory or help centre. And tiers come with every web plan, where LoyaltyLion says tiers are “not available on Small Business or our free plan”.
May suit you if you sell mostly online through Shopify and want to start on a free plan there.
Smile.io: best for Shopify-first stores
Smile.io’s footer calls it “The loyalty platform for Shopify Plus and enterprise brands.” Its help centre says it is only available on Shopify, Shopify Plus, Shopify POS and BigCommerce, and its pricing page says “Other POS systems are not supported at this time.”
Where Rewardfinity is stronger. It runs at a counter without a Shopify or BigCommerce account, connects to Square natively and to other tills by signed webhook, and runs digital stamp cards, which Smile’s help centre and product pages do not describe.
May suit you if you run a Shopify brand that sells mostly online. Our own Shopify app has a Free plan and is its own workspace, separate from the web dashboard. Rewardfinity and Smile.io compared.
How each app starts
Three ways in: a trial you start yourself, a free plan, or a demo first. Only trials are drawn as bars, so a free plan is never shown as shorter.
| App | How you start | Length | Conditions | Where we read it |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rewardfinity | Self-serve trial | 60 days | From workspace creation; no card, no automatic charge | Our pricing and signup pages |
| Square Loyalty | Self-serve trial | 30 days | For Square sellers; card requirement not stated | Square Loyalty product page |
| Stamp Me | Self-serve trial | 30 days | From your first published stamp card; no card | Stamp Me pricing page |
| Loopy Loyalty | Self-serve trial | 15 days | No card to start; a credit card to move a draft project live | Loopy pricing page and help centre |
| Loyalzoo | Self-serve trial | 7 days | Card requirement not stated | Loyalzoo pricing page |
| BonusQR | Free plan | No day count | Labelled “forever” | BonusQR pricing page |
| loop.fans | Free plan | No day count | “no card required”; paid plans list a free trial | loop.fans pricing page |
| LoyaltyLion | Free plan | No day count | On Shopify; a 14-day trial of paid features, then the free plan | LoyaltyLion pricing page and help centre |
| Smile.io | Free plan | No day count | “It doesn’t expire” under the Free order limit; 14-day trials on paid plans | Smile.io help centre |
| Kangaroo Rewards | Demo booking form, from its pricing page | No trial terms published | Every pricing-page “Get Started” leads there; its tablet app says “Download, register, launch”; switchers are offered “6 months free” (terms apply) | Kangaroo pricing, booking, tablet and switching pages |
| SumUp Connect | Sales form, from its pricing page | No trial described | The form’s button reads “Get a Demo” | SumUp Connect pages |
| TapMango | Demo or quote, from its pricing page | No trial described | “Book a Demo” or “Get My Quote” | TapMango home and pricing pages |
The arithmetic: 60 ÷ 30 = 2, 60 ÷ 15 = 4, and 60 ÷ 7 = 8.57, or about 8.6 weeks. A trial is a window, not a price, and a free plan can suit a shop that fits inside its limits.
Switching to Rewardfinity from another app
Rewardfinity imports members from a CSV file in the dashboard. Each row needs an email; it also reads name, points, lifetime points and joined date, and lists any other column as ignored. A batch takes up to 1,000 members, and a preview shows new and existing members and the points to add before anything is written.
- Ask for an email per member. Square Loyalty enrols customers by mobile number, and SumUp Connect asks for an email on the third check-in, so some members may have none to import. They re-join by scanning your new QR code.
- Plan for stamp progress. Our importer has no stamp-count column. Stamp Me’s member export includes each member’s active stamps, so convert them to points or add them at the counter.
- Connect Square first, if you use it. From then on, a payment carrying an email earns for that member and enrols a new one.
Our pick for a small shop at a counter: Rewardfinity
For a shop that sells across a counter, Rewardfinity is the app we would start with, and we say so knowing we make it. It puts stamp cards, points with tiers, referrals and prepaid packs in one product, connects natively to Square, runs the counter on a phone you already own, and lets you try it all for 60 days without a card or a sales call.
If a “may suit” line above describes you exactly, such as an all-Square shop or a Shopify brand that sells mostly online, start with that app. Otherwise, run one real stamp card through our trial and judge it at your own counter. If a paper punch card is what you are replacing, the best digital punch card apps narrows the list to that one job.
Questions people ask
What is the best loyalty app for a small business?
For a small shop that sells at a counter, we think Rewardfinity is, and we make it, so weigh that. It offers stamp cards, points with VIP tiers, six other card types and referrals, connects natively to Square, runs its counter in a browser on a phone you own, and starts with a 60-day trial with no card. A Square-only shop or a Shopify brand selling mostly online may prefer an app built for that platform.
Is there a free loyalty app for small businesses?
Several apps have a free plan: BonusQR labels its Free plan “forever”, loop.fans has one, LoyaltyLion has a free plan on Shopify, and Smile.io has a Free plan that does not expire under its order limit, each with fewer features than its paid plans. Rewardfinity’s web product has no free plan. It has a 60-day trial with no card and no automatic charge, and its Shopify app has a Free plan with three active discount rewards.
Which loyalty apps work with Square?
Square Loyalty is Square’s own add-on for Square sellers. Rewardfinity connects to Square natively: a payment carrying the customer’s email, or a Square customer record with one, earns for that member and enrols a new email. A payment with no email is not matched, so staff scan the member’s QR code instead. Loyalzoo and TapMango also describe Square integrations, and Loopy Loyalty’s help centre documents Square through two Zapier automations.
Do I need a POS system to run a loyalty program?
No. With Rewardfinity, staff scan the member’s QR code in a browser on a phone or tablet the shop already owns. No NFC reader purchase is required for the QR-first counter workflow. A till can still be connected: Square natively, others through a signed webhook for existing members. Stamp Me, BonusQR and loop.fans also say they need no POS, while Smile.io works in store through Shopify POS.
Can I move my customers from another loyalty app to Rewardfinity?
Yes, if you can export them with an email address. Rewardfinity imports a CSV file with an email on every row, plus optional name, points, lifetime points and joined date, up to 1,000 members per batch, and shows a preview before anything is written. There is no stamp-count column, so stamp progress moves across as points or is added at the counter. Ask your current app what its export contains first.
How long is the Rewardfinity free trial?
Sixty days on the web, starting when the workspace is created. No card is required and there is no automatic charge, and reminders go out 7 days and 1 day before the end. If you do not choose a plan, new earning, spins and redemptions pause and your records stay. Square Loyalty and Stamp Me offer 30 days, Loopy Loyalty 15 and Loyalzoo 7. The Shopify app has its own plans, including a Free plan.
Try our pick at your own counter.
A new web workspace starts a 60-day trial with no card and no automatic charge. Set up one stamp card, scan it with a phone, and decide with real customers. On Shopify, the app has a Free plan.